Saint-Saëns: Melodie sans Paroles

Saint-Saëns: Melodie sans Paroles
Composer Camille Saint-Saëns
Artist Bart Schneemann oboe
Paolo Giacometti piano
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 93688
EAN code 5028421936888
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Mendelssohn never added the words to his Lieder ohne Worte. Bart Schneemann did the opposite with Saint-Saëns’ melodies (songs). He simply took away the words and suddenly there they were, lovely pieces for oboe and piano.

Being leader of the Dutch Wind Ensemble, Schneemann has become a rather prominent musician. This collaboration with pianist Paolo Giacometti shows him in an entirely different context. Their partnership leaves nothing to be desired for in this typically French music.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Le lever de la lune
  2. La feuille de peuplier
  3. Tristesse
  4. La mort d’Ophélie
  5. Aimons-nous
  6. L’Attente
  7. Au cimetière
  8. Chanson triste
  9. La cloche
  10. L’enlêvement
  11. Extase
  12. Peut-être
  13. Pourquoi rester seulette
  14. La sérénité
  15. Le rossignol
  16. Plainte
  17. Sonata for Oboe and Piano, Op.166: Andantino
  18. Sonata for Oboe and Piano, Op.166: Ad libitum
  19. Sonata for Oboe and Piano, Op.166: Molto allegro