Corrette: Les Six Symphonies de Noël

Corrette: Les Six Symphonies de Noël
Composer Michel Corrette
Artist La Fantasia ensemble
Rien Voskuilen organ and concert master
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 93538
EAN code 5028421935386
Release June 2009

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Download & streams

  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Michel Corrette (1709–1795) was born in Rouen, where his father Gaspard was an organist. Sadly, little is known about his early life, but we know he held positions as organist in several churches in Paris. For many years his reputation rested on his teaching methods and educational works, and he can claim to have written and published more teaching methods than any other composer. These include works on the mandolin, guitar, violin, cello, viola da gamba, organ, harpsichord, double bass and harp. Today, these books are of interest as they throw light upon the ‘Italian’ style that was all the rage in France in the early 18th century. The proceeds of all these successful books meant that Corrette became relatively well off, which aroused feelings of envy among his contemporaries, who often made sure that his music received lukewarm reviews.

On this release of Les Six Symphonies de Noël, we hear Corrette writing in a style firmly rooted in the Baroque, but the inclusion of ‘foreign’ material such as the tune from Poland and from North America show the innovative and truly creative side of the composer. Noëls were extremely popular in France, and many were intended for organ alone, though Corrette stipulates that his can be performed within an orchestral setting. He probably meant by this that the organ and a small string ensemble would be the ideal forces.

Other information:
- Period instrument performances.
- La Fantasia was established by Rien Voskuilen in 1989 and performs music from the 17th and 18th centuries, concentrating on less well-known repertoire. This often leads to fascinating discoveries and re-appraisals.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Sinfonia I: Ã La Venue De Noël: Moderato
  2. Sinfonia I: Le Roy Des Cieux vient De Naître: Andante
  3. Sinfonia I: Voici Le Jour Solennel: Moderato
  4. Sinfonia I: Adam Fut Un Pauvre Homme: Allegro
  5. Sinfonia II: Où S'en Vont Ces Gais Bergers: Allegro
  6. Sinfonia II: Noël Polonais: Largo
  7. Sinfonia II: Laissez Paître Vos Bêtes: Allegro
  8. Sinfonia III: Quand Je M'éilla Et Eus Assez Dormi: Moderato
  9. Sinfonia III: Vous Qui Désirez Sans FIn: Andante
  10. Sinfonia III: Noël Allemand: Largo
  11. Sinfonia III: Noël De St. Cyr: Allegro
  12. Sinfonia III: Cette Journée: Allegro
  13. Sinfonia III: Puer Nobis Nascitur: Moderato
  14. Sinfonia III: Chantons Je Vous Prie: Allegro
  15. Sinfonia III: Joseph Est Un Bon Compagnon: Allegro
  16. Sinfonia IV: Une Jeune Pucelle: Moderato
  17. Sinfonia IV: (Je Me Suis Levé Par Un Matinet): Allegro
  18. Sinfonia IV: Chrétien(s) Qui SuIVez L'église: Adagio
  19. Sinfonia IV: Nous Sommes En Voie: Allegro
  20. Sinfonia IV: Noel Allemand: Largo
  21. Sinfonia IV: Noël Américain: Allegro
  22. Sinfonia IV: Nouveau Noël Sur Un Ancien Air De M. Lully (Votre Bonté Grand Deiu: Allegro
  23. Sinfonia V: Chantons Je Vous Prie Noël Hautement: Moderato
  24. Sinfonia V: Bergers Allons Voir Dans Ce Lieu: Andante
  25. Sinfonia V: Joseph Est Bien Marié: Allegro
  26. Sinfonia V: Un Jour Dieu Se Résolut
  27. Sinfonia V: Michau Qui Causoit Ce Grand Bruit: Allegro
  28. Sinfonia V: Or, Nous Dites, Marie: Adagio
  29. Sinfonia V: Chantons De VoIX Hautaine: vivace
  30. Sinfonia V: Noël Suisse: Allegro
  31. Sinfonia vi: Tous Les Bourgeois De Chartres: Allegro
  32. Sinfonia vi: Quoy Ma Voisine Es-Tu Fâchée: Amorozo
  33. Sinfonia vi: Noël De Saintonge; (Savez-Vous Mon Cher Voisin): Allegro
  34. Sinfonia vi: Bon Joseph Ëcoutez-Moi