Purcell & Dowland: Awake, sweet love

Purcell & Dowland: Awake, sweet love
Composer Henry Purcell, John Dowland
Artist Rufus Müller tenor
Christopher Wilson lute
Michael Chance counter tenor
Nigel North archlute and theorbo
Richard Boothby viola da gamba
Maggie Cole harpsichord
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 92137
EAN code 5028421921372
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Other buying options

About this release

English Lute Songs by Purcell and Dowland. This set brings back the atmosphere of 17th century England, where at the courts of the aristocracy expert singers accompanied themselves on the lute in songs about Courtly Love, Worldy Love, Passionate Love and, above all, Love.

Other information:
- Complete sung texts included.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Unquiet thoughts
  2. Who ever thinks or hopes of love
  3. My thoughts are wing´d with hopes
  4. If my complaints could passions move
  5. Can she excuse my wrongs?
  6. Now, o now, I needs must part
  7. Dear, if you change
  8. Burst forth my tears
  9. Go crystal tears
  10. Think´st thou then by thy feigning?
  11. Come away, come sweet love
  12. Rest awhile you cruel cares
  13. Sleep, wayward thoughts
  14. All ye, whom Love or Fortune hath betray´d
  15. Wilt thou, unkind, thus reave me?
  16. Would my conceit
  17. Come again, sweet love doth now invite
  18. His golden locks
  19. Awake, sweet love
  20. Come, heavy sleep
  21. Away with these self loving lads

Disk 2

  1. Crown the Altar
  2. Strike the Viol
  3. If music be the food of love
  4. In the black dismal dungeon of despair
  5. Music for a while
  6. Since from my dear Astrea's sight
  7. Thrice happy
  8. By beautious softness
  9. Here the Deities approve
  10. O Solitude
  11. Sweeter than Roses
  12. Tis Natures Voice
  13. The Queen's Epicedium
  14. One charming night
  15. An Evening Hymn