Leyding, Kneller & Geist: Complete Organ Music

Leyding, Kneller & Geist: Complete Organ Music
Composer Andreas Kneller, Christian Geist, Georg Dietrich Leyding, Johann Sebastian Bach
Artist Manuel Tomadin organ
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94716
EAN code 5028421947167
Release September 2013

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon





  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Manuel Tomadin follows up his first album for Brilliant Classics, of Weimar-composed chorales by J.S. Bach (94456), with some little-known musical treasures from Hamburg c.1700 complemented by a bona-fide rarity by Bach, a chorale fantasia believed to date from between 1705 and 1710 and rediscovered as recently as 2008.

Georg Dietrich Leyding, Andreas Kneller, Christian Geist may hardly be more than names even to organ aficionados nowadays, but they were all active and original composers in North Germany in the latter years of the 17th century, a generation or so younger than Johann Sebastian. Most of their music is lost, but Manuel Tomadin presents here all their extant works for organ, on a fine Dell’Orto & Lanzini organ, at Nostra Signora di Fatima, Pinerolo (2011): a modern instrument built with Barock principles in mind. These works range from Geist's relatively simple chorale settings to some elaborately florid chorale fantasias and preludes by Leyding and Kneller, demanding considerable virtuosity of the kind that would have delighted the great Bach himself.

Tomadin has made a specialty of this musical period and repertoire. He was Young ECHO Organist of the Year 2012, having won the ninth Internationaal Schnitger Orgelconcours during the Orgelfestival Holland in June 2011 in Alkmaar. He was born in 1977 but has already made recordings on various instruments of historical importance; he enjoys a high reputation among the organ fraternity.

Other information:
- Recorded in 2012.
- The city of Hamburg around 1700 was a prosperous, wealthy and international centre of business and art, attracting artist from all over Europe. This CD presents the complete organ works of composers active in the city around 1700, belonging to one generation before Johann Sebastian Bach, who himself is represented here with a recently (2008) discovered Chorale Fantasia.
- Manuel Tomadin is one of the most interesting organists of his generation. He is winner of the ECHO Organist of the Year Award 2012, and winner of the Schnitger Organ Competition in Alkmaar/Netherlands. He plays a magnificent Dell’Orto & Lanzini organ, built on Baroque principles.
- Little-known but delightful music.
- Biographical and musical notes by the performer.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Praeludium in D Minor
  2. Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland (8 Verses)
  3. Praeludium in F Major
  4. Praeludium in G Major
  5. Allein Gott in der Höh sei Ehr
  6. Aus tiefer Not schrei ich zu Dir
  7. Gelobet seist Du, Jesu Christ
  8. Praeludium in C Major
  9. Von Gott will ich nicht lassen (6 Verses)
  10. Praeludium in E-Flat Major (Transposed to F Major)
  11. Wie schön leuchtet der Morgenstern
  12. Praeludium in B-Flat Major
  13. Wo Gott der Herr nicht bei uns hält – Chorale Fantasia, BWV 1128