In Paradisum: Spiritual Classical Melodies (EUR)

In Paradisum: Spiritual Classical Melodies (EUR)
Composer Various Composers
Artist Various artists
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 94412
EAN code 5028421944128
Release July 2012

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon




Other buying options

About this release

This sublime compilation will take listeners on a journey through some of the most profound classical music ever written, demonstrating the wealth of inspiration that history’s greatest composers have found in spirituality and religion.

Taking its title from the concluding movement of Fauré’s intensely moving Requiem, described by the composer as a ‘very human’ take on the traditional Mass for the Dead, the collection surveys a vast range of styles, eras and composers. Renaissance masterpieces – including Allegri’s famous Miserere, the remarkable 40-voice Spem in alium by Tallis and Palestrina’s Sanctus – sit alongside Romantic classics like Fauré’s Cantique de Jean Racine, a sophisticated choral hymn-setting, and Brahms’s Ave Maria. A number of Mozart’s best-loved works are present, including the Ave Verum and excerpts from his Requiem and ‘Great’ Mass in C minor, as are arias by J.S. Bach and Handel’s magnificent ‘Hallelujah’ Chorus from Messiah. Less traditional offerings are also featured, encapsulated in the folk-inspired strains of the finale of Mahler’s Symphony No.4. A rich selection of classics by Franck, Bruckner, Hassler, Pergolesi, Mendelssohn, Tchaikovsky and Verdi complete this stunning collection.

Other information:
- One of Brilliant Classics’ best-selling releases, reissued by popular demand
- Ranging from the Renaissance to the early 20th century, and featuring some of the best-loved choral and sacred music, this is a rich and wide-ranging collection, in which all listeners will be able to discover new gems
- Performed by the world’s best choirs, such as the King’s College Choir Cambridge, The Clare College Choir Cambridge, St John’s College Choir Cambridge, and the European Chamber Choir.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. In Paradisum (from: Requiem)
  2. Ave Verum
  3. Panis Angelicus
  4. Stabat Mater dolorosa
  5. Laudate Dominum, KV 339
  6. Locus iste
  7. Denn er hat seinen Engeln befohlen (from: Elias)
  8. Ave Maris Stella
  9. Cantique de Jean Racine
  10. Miserere
  11. Wir geniessen den himmlischen Leben (from: Symphony No. 4)
  12. Sanctus (from: Missa Papae Marcelli)

Disk 2

  1. Requiem aeternam (from: Requiem)
  2. Ich habe genug, aria (from: Cantata, BWV 82)
  3. Et incarnatus est, aria (from: Mass in C Minor, KV 427)
  4. Agnus Dei (from: Requiem)
  5. Ave Maria
  6. Quando corpus morietur (from: Stabat Mater)
  7. Lux Aeterna (from: Requiem)
  8. Hallelujah (from: Messiah)
  9. Sacred Song/Geistliches Lied, Op. 30
  10. Aus Liebe will mein Heiland sterben (from: Matthäus Passion)
  11. Psalm 42 Wie der Hirsch schreit
  12. Hymn of the Cherubim
  13. Spem in Alium (from: Music for Queen Elizabeth)