Handel: Aci, Galatea e Polifemo

Handel: Aci, Galatea e Polifemo
Composer Georg Frideric Handel
Artist Aci Stefanie True soprano
Galatea Luciana Mancini mezzo soprano
Polifemo Mitchell Sandler bass
Contrasto Armonico
Marco Vitale conductor
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 93665
EAN code 5028421936659
Release April 2006

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon





  • Download at Spotify

Other buying options

About this release

Looking ahead to Handel year 2009 this CD offers a rare opportunity to listen to Handel’s Aci, Galatea e Polifemo.This seldomly heard ‘serenata’ (musical entertainment) was written by the famous composer when still very young - he was 23 - in Italy.

True to the original setting of such a piece – often outdoors and without acting – the cast consists of just three characters. They are all mentioned in the title. In this serenata Handel ccasionally has been very specific about instruments to be used in performances. Thus a ‘violone grosso’ shows up in the aria 'Fra l'ombre e gl'orrori'.

This is an intimate and brand new recording led by Marco Vitale. He plays the harpsichord together with his Contrasto Armonico specializing in early music. The singers are Stefanie True (soprano), Luciana Mancini (mezzo soprano) and bass-baritone Mitchell Sandler.

Other information:
- www.contrastoarmonico.eu.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Duetto: Aci, Galatea - Sorge il dì
  2. Recitativo: Aci, Galatea - Vanti, o cara, il ruscello
  3. Aria: Galatea - Sforzano a piangere con più dolor
  4. Recitativo: Aci, Galatea - E qual nuova sventura
  5. Aria: Aci - Che non può la gelosia
  6. Accompagnato: Galatea, Aci - Ma qual orrido suono
  7. Recitativo: Galatea, Aci - Ahi, che dall’ombre eterne
  8. Aria: Polifemo - Sibilar l’angui d’Aletto
  9. Recitativo: Galatea, Polifemo - Deh lascia, o Polifemo
  10. Aria: Galatea - Benché tuoni e l'etra avvampi
  11. Recitativo: Polifemo, Galatea - Cadrai depressa e vinta
  12. Aria: Polifemo - Non sempre, no, crudele
  13. Recitativo: Galatea, Polifemo, Aci - Folle, quanto mi rido
  14. Aria: Aci - Dell’aquila l’artigli
  15. Recitativo: Polifemo, Aci - Meglio spiega i tuoi sensi
  16. Aria: Polifemo - Precipitoso nel mar che freme
  17. Recitativo: Galatea - Sì, t’intendo, inumano
  18. Aria: Galatea - S’agita in mezzo all’onde
  19. Recitativo: Polifemo, Aci - So che le cinosure
  20. Terzetto Aci, Galatea, Polifemo - Proverà lo sdegno mio

Disk 2

  1. Recitativo: Polifemo, Galatea, Aci - Ingrata, se mi nieghi
  2. Aria: Polifemo - Fra l’ombre e gl’orrori
  3. Recitativo: Polifemo, Aci - Ma che? non andrà inulta
  4. Aria: Aci - Qui l’augel da pianta in pianta
  5. Recitativo: Galatea, Aci - Giunsi al fin, mio tesoro
  6. Aria: Galatea - Se m’ami, o caro
  7. Recitativo: Polifemo, Aci, Galatea - Qui sull’alto del monte
  8. Terzetto: Aci, Galatea, Polifemo - Dolce amico amplesso
  9. Recitativo: Polifemo, Aci - Or poiché sordi sono
  10. Aria: Aci - Verso già l’alma col sangue
  11. Recitativo: Galatea - Misera, e dove sono?
  12. Aria: Polifemo - Impara, ingrata, impara
  13. Recitativo: Galatea, Polifemo - Ah, tiranno inumano!
  14. Aria: Galatea - Del mar fra l’onde
  15. Recitativo: Polifemo - Ferma, ma già nel mare
  16. Accompagnato: Polifemo - “Vissi fedel, mia vita”
  17. Recitativo: Polifemo - Ed io, che tanto ascolto
  18. Terzetto: Aci, Galatea, Polifemo - Chi ben ama ha per oggetti