De Sica: In Memoriam, Violin Concerto, Una breve vacanza

De Sica: In Memoriam, Violin Concerto, Una breve vacanza
Composer Manuel De Sica
Artist Floraleda Sacchi harp
Maristella Patuzzi violin
Anna Serova viola
Michelangelo Carbonara piano
Marco Attura orchestral piano
Filarmonica Arturo Toscanini
Flavio Emilio Scogna conductor
Marco Attura assistant conductor
Format 1 CD
Cat. number 94905
EAN code 5028421949055
Release January 2014

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon





  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

No division between ‘absolute’ and ‘applied’ music – that’s the way it has always been for Manuel de Sica. Here we have the chance to explore the oeuvre of this contemporary Italian composer, best known for his contributions to the world of film; Il giardino dei Finzi Contini, the last track on the release, won an Oscar nomination for Best Original Score.

Much of De Sica’s work centres around the themes of pain and suffering, where music is invested with the power to help alleviate the indifference that surrounds so much human grief – thus pieces such as In memoriam and Kojiki, the latter of which was inspired by the bombing of Pearl Harbour – look to console and redeem. Also included on the set are the Concerto for violin and strings, which pays homage to two of the most important influences on the composer’s style – Berg and Bartók – and Una breve vacanza, the leitmotif of the like-named film directed by De Sica’s father and, by the composer’s own admission, one of his most beautiful melodies. Filmusic, a three-part concertino with a Russian-inspired first movement and swirling tarantella-based finale, completes the line-up.

Performing this music is the Filarmonica Arturo Toscanini, one of Italy’s most important symphony orchestras and which has appeared under conductors of the calibre of Charles Dutoit, Lorin Maazel and Kurt Masur – to name but a few. The ensemble provides the background to a wonderfully lively instrumental fantasy in which the harp, violin, viola and piano – here astutely performed Floraleda Sacchi, Maristella Patuzzi, Anna Serova and Michelangelo Carbonara respectively – becomes the soloists in a fascinating, wide-reaching musical fabric. Flavio Emilio Scogna conducts.

Other information:
- Recorded 27 & 28 May 2013, Centro di Produzione Musicale della Filarmonica Toscanini, Parma.
- Manuel de Sica’s music is difficult to categorise, and that in itself is its strength: it seamlessly crosses borders between “serious” and “light” music, touches on tragic events (a memoriam for the victims of the earthquake of Abruzzo and Emilia), and illuminates films. The diversity of De Sica’s inspirations (Maderna, Berg, Bartók, Mancini) points at his eclectic and unconventional style.
- The works on this CD are concertante works for a variety of solo instruments: violin, viola, harp and piano.
- Music of immediate appeal, a source of beauty and inspiration!
- Excellent performances by the Filarmonica Arturo Toscanini, conducted by Flavio Emilio Scogna.
- Liner notes by the composer and orchestra biography.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. In memoriam for Strings
  2. Kojiki for Harp and Strings: I. Prelude
  3. Kojiki for Harp and Strings: II. Epitaph
  4. Kojiki for Harp and Strings: III. Dance
  5. Concerto for Violin and Strings: I. Adagio, quasi andante
  6. Concerto for Violin and Strings: II. Mosso, misterioso
  7. Concerto for Violin and Strings: III. Meditativo, con intensitaà
  8. Concerto for Violin and Strings: IV. Adagio
  9. Una breve vacanza for viola and strings
  10. Filmusic for Piano and Strings: I. Without Title
  11. Filmusic for Piano and Strings: II. Without Title
  12. Filmusic for Piano and Strings: III. Without Title
  13. Il giardino dei Finzi Contini for Orchestra