D. Scarlatti: Complete Sonatas, Vol. XI (Sonatas Kk. 476-519)

D. Scarlatti: Complete Sonatas, Vol. XI (Sonatas Kk. 476-519)
Composer Domenico Scarlatti
Artist Pieter-Jan Belder harpsichord
Format 3 CD
Cat. number 93576
EAN code 5028421935768
Release October 2007

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon





  • Download at Spotify

Other buying options

About this release

Born in 1685, Scarlatti spent the majority of his career in the service of the Portuguese and Spanish royal families – with the latter appointment enabling him to devote his full attention towards composing for the harpsichord. This unusual cultural background accounts for why the Italian’s music, though contemporary with that of Bach and Handel, differs so much in comparison–Spanish dance rhythms (such as the flamenco), and folk tunes with Moorish and gypsy-like flavours, indicate that day-by-day-street life was a great source of inspiration to Scarlatti.

Written in single-movement form, the 555 works comprising the collection also reveal Scarlatti’s development of new playing techniques, including note repetitions and fast passages in parallel 3rds and 6ths, not to mention his important pioneering of structures – which in turn point to the impending emergence of the Classical style. They are performed with gusto by Pieter-Jan Belder, whose assured interpretation does full justice to this important body of late Baroque music.

Harpsichordist Pieter-Jan Belder needed seven years to record all of Scarlatti’s 555 sonatas for keyboard, but of course he succeded in this admireable task and the results are truly magnificent. This release is the eleventh volume, containing the sonatas Nos. 476 - 519.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. K. 476 in G Minor: Allegro
  2. K. 477 in G Major: Allegrissimo
  3. K. 478 in D Major: Andante e cantabile
  4. K. 479 in D Major: Allegrissimo
  5. K. 480 in D Major: Presto
  6. K. 481 in F Minor: Andante e cantabile
  7. K. 482 in F Major: Allegrissimo
  8. K. 483 in F Major: Presto
  9. K. 484 in D Major: Allegro
  10. K. 485 in C Major: Andante e cantabile
  11. K. 486 in C Major: Allegro
  12. K. 487 in C Major: Allegro
  13. K. 488 in B-Flat Major: Allegro
  14. K. 489 in B-Flat Major: Allegro

Disk 2

  1. K. 490 in D Major: Cantabile
  2. K. 491 in D Major: Allegro
  3. K. 492 in D Major: Presto
  4. K. 493 in G Major: Allegro
  5. K. 494 in G Major: Allegro
  6. K. 495 in E Major: Allegro
  7. K. 496 in E Major: Allegro
  8. K. 497 in B Minor: Allegro
  9. K. 498 in B Minor: Allegro
  10. K. 499 in A Major: Andante
  11. K. 500 in A Major: Allegro
  12. K. 501 in C Major: Allegretto
  13. K. 502 in C Major: Allegro

Disk 3

  1. K. 503 in B-Flat Major: Allegretto
  2. K. 504 in B-Flat Major: Allegro
  3. K. 505 in F Major: Allegro non presto
  4. K. 506 in F Major: Allegro
  5. K. 507 in E-Flat Major: Andantino cantabile
  6. K. 508 in E-Flat Major: Allegro
  7. K. 509 in D Major: Allegro
  8. K. 510 in D Minor: Allegro
  9. K. 511 in D Major: Allegro
  10. K. 512 in D Major: Allegro
  11. K. 513 in C Major: pastorale, moderato, molto allegro, presto
  12. K. 514 in C Major: Allegro
  13. K. 515 in C Major: Allegro
  14. K. 516 in D Minor: Allegretto
  15. K. 517 in D Minor: Prestissimo
  16. K. 518 in F Major: Allegro
  17. K. 519 in F Major: Allegro assai