Classics for the People, Vol. 1

Classics for the People, Vol. 1
Composer Edward Elgar, Georg Frideric Handel, Richard Wagner
Artist Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Format 2 CD
Cat. number 94982
EAN code 5028421949826
Release September 2014

Buy online

  • Buy at Amazon





  • Download at Spotify
  •  Buy at iTunes

Other buying options

About this release

Every now and again a piece of music comes along that captures the public’s attention and imagination – a composition, movement or excerpt which, on account of the enjoyment or interest we continue to derive from it upon repeated listening, is catapulted into the classical canon where it assumes the status of a permanent fixture.

Such is the case regarding the pieces brought together on this CD album: ‘chart-topping’ tunes which are among classical music’s most loved and celebrated works. From Handel’s rousing chorus Zadok the Priest – a coronation anthem that survived its ineffective first performance to become of the composer’s most popular works – to the magical beauty of Faure’s wistful, six-minute Pavane and Khachaturian’s rhythm-driven Gayaneh excerpt ‘Sabre Dance’, the set traces over 200 years of Western musical composition to present a programme that is diverse both in style and mood and which never fails to entertain. At hand to perform these iconic works (and revealing their versatility of repertoire) is the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, with acclaimed singers such as Deborah Norman and Wynne Evans putting the finishing touches to this all-British effectuation.

Other information:
- A good, old fashioned, success-proven compilation of Classical Hits, Orchestral Favourites, or whatever you would like to call these ever popular works, which still have a chance to find a new audience, because there are still hoards of people who have never heard Verdi’s Triumphal Aida March, Handel’s Hallelujah, Khatchaturian’s Sabre Dance, Strauss’ Blue Danube, Orff’s O Fortuna, or Puccini’s Nessun Dorma.
- Excellent performances by one of the world’s best orchestras, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.
- Total time nearly 140 minutes.
- Booklet includes detailed notes on the music.

Track list

Disk 1

  1. Coronation Anthem "Zadok the Priest", HWV 258
  2. The Valkyrie, WWV 86B, Pt. 3: The Ride of the Valkyries
  3. Aida, Pt. 2: Grand March
  4. Variations on an Original Theme “Enigma”, Op. 36
  5. Les pêcheurs de perles, WD 13, Pt. 1:Duet. Au fond de temple saint (Nadir, Zurga)
  6. Orphée aux enfers, Pt. 2: Can-Can
  7. Slavonic Dances, Op. 46: VIII. Slavonic Dance in G Minor. Furiant (Presto)
  8. Turandot, Pt. 3: Aria. Nessun dorma
  9. Danse macabre in G Minor, Op.40
  10. Madama Butterfly, Pt. 2: Aria. Un bel dì vedremo (Butterfly)
  11. Adagio for Strings in B-Flat Minor
  12. Boléro in C Major, M. 81

Disk 2

  1. Finlandia, Op. 26
  2. Carmina Burana: O fortuna
  3. Pavane in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 50
  4. And Did Those Feet in Ancient Time “Jerusalem”
  5. The Liberty Bell March
  6. The Barber of Seville: Aria. Largo al factotum
  7. An der schönen blauen Donau, Op. 314
  8. Messiah, HWV 56: Hallelujah
  9. Pomp and Circumstance, Op. 39: March No.1 in D Major
  10. O sole mio
  11. Gayaneh, Ballet Suite: Sabre Dance
  12. 1812 Overture, Op. 49